Trying out OpenDNS
I just started using OpenDNS on my WinXP, Linksys WRT54GL-router and dnscache on FreeBSD I’ve deleted dnscache since I don’t really have a need for it anymore now.
So far “the Web” feels far more responsive, but let’s see for the rest of this week if this really speeds thing up as some say…
FYI: The above image is dynamic: if you’re already using OpenDNS it will tell you.
I’m experiencing some weird issues on my FreeBSD-host that also acts as my mailserver: since I started using OpenDNS on this machine, my ISP and even my own system (!) seem to be listed on some SMTP-blacklists… I use some strict checking-rules and these in turn make use of DNS.
Now with OpenDNS turned on the bSMTP-hosts from XS4ALL are listed in “blackhole.securitysage.com” for example, but with DNS set to my ISP, everything is clear and test-mails arrive as usual.
So? Just to be sure, I disabled this lookup-service completely on all of my boxes and reversed the configurations!









Thank you for checking out our service. Please let us know how it goes, and how we can continue to improve.
John Roberts
OpenDNS
Sounds like John Roberts has some improvements to make
Interesting.
We’re going to add blackhole.securitysage.com to our lists
http://blog.opendns.com/2007/01/26/domain-based-blacklists/
even though we can’t find any live information about this on the web.
What are you using for mail that checks these?
John,
I’ve been using Postfix as my MTA for app. 6 years and have never ever experienced stuff like this before.
I also use amavisd-new with Spamassassin and clamd for spam / virus-filtering. These are my lists that Postfix checks:
reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.orgreject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net
#reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org # Stopped Dec. 18 2006
reject_rbl_client sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org
reject_rbl_client combined.njabl.org
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org
reject_rbl_client dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
reject_rbl_client psbl.surriel.com
reject_rbl_client hosts.rbl.zonnet.net
reject_rbl_client dnsbl.ahbl.org
“blackhole.securitysarge.com” was in the file “user_prefs” (Spamassassin); I’ve deleted this entry…
As you can imagine I’m very hesitant about using OpenDNS again because of this…